Italy Foodie Report

The other day I have seen a great video over at Acorn in My Kitchen’s blog, about Italy, one of my all time favorite countries (you would never guess, I know🙂 ) and it made me think about my top-10 favorite things in Italy. Here they come, without any specific order, with a couple of pics from our latest trip to this magnificent country:

Cold cuts! Mortadella and Prosciutto di Parma – mmmm…. just layer them with a few slices of tomato in a piadina, and you are done!
Mozzarella (and other wonderful cheeses) – get the real deal. There are some really bad versions of this amazing soft cheese ball.

Italian_Food  07

Olive Oil – needs explaining?
Cakes and Cookies – if you have ever been to an Italian supermarket, you’ll know what I mean. Hundreds of boxes of different cakes and cookies (for breakfast, lunch, dinner, afternoon snack, tea/coffee, anything)
Ice cream – please once in your lifetime, go to Sirmione of the lake Garda and check out the ice cream stands. You won’t regret it!

Italian_Food  04

Italian_Food  03

Italian_Food  05
Garda Lake – this is definitely on the very top of the list.
People – how can you not love the way they drive and shout at each other? Or the F1 “tifosi”? Or the smile of the Italian grannies?🙂
Pasta and pizza – because there are about a million types and they are all sooo good.

Italian_Food  10

Italian_Food  09

Italian_Food  08

Gnocchi_Pomodoro_Zucchine_Tonno  01

Lambrusco – the famous Italian vine, a glass a day probably makes you live a 100 years.
and of course those Italian Grapes!!!!

What are YOUR favorite things in Italy? Share with us🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “Italy Foodie Report”
  1. Oh where to begin with my favorite things in Italy…I love the Ponte Vecchio in Florence….I love Florence. For a little quieter side trip, I thought Sorento was really beautiful and less frenzied than the major cities. Of course how cool is Venice? One thing for sure though – I never had a bad meal or glass of wine in Italy.

    • Yes Florence is wonderful, the garden of that palace is fantastic! Venice is great off season😀 And I have to contradict, if you spend enough time in Italy surely you will have a bad meal, I did, a really bad pasta in a restaurant, where we entered only because it was wonderfully located in a valley😉

Leave a Reply

