Cranberry Orange Scones

I was wandering about the vast universe of food blog posts and came by something I have never tried before but heard so so many times in my life: scones. Yes that is right, I have never before done scones, duh, big deal. But dear am I in love now with them! So easy, and so pleasing, must try.

Check out the original recipe and great process pictures at Must Come Hungry! I made some minor changes to the recipe to suit our taste even better.

Orange Cranberry Scones (half batch)

Ingredients:

1/6 cup sugar + 1 tsp for glazing (I substituted this with 1 tsp honey)
Zest and juice of 1 orange (with pulp) – 1 tbsp juice for glazing
1.5 cups flour
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
50g butter, chilled and diced
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup milk

Preparation:

1. Set aside the sugar (or honey) and orange juice for glazing the scones.
2. In a bowl, combine flour, 1/6 cup sugar, baking powder, orange zest and salt. Add the diced butter and using your hands, incorporate the butter into the flour mixture. Continue until you have a nice crumbly mixture. Add the cranberries and mix. Pour in the milk and the rest of the orange juice. Using a fork, toss the dough until it sticks together in clumps; add more milk if the dough seems too dry.
3. Make the dough into a ball, press into a 6-inch round circle (1-inch high) on a floured surface.
4. Cut into six wedges and transfer onto a baking sheet. For the glaze, whisk  the reserved sugar (or honey) and orange juice together in a small bowl. Brush the tops of the scones with the glaze before baking.
5. Bake at 220°C for 18-20 minutes or until golden brown. Allow to cool before serving (yeah sure….)

I made these on Friday and then had to do them again on Saturday because there were none left to take to my grandparents’ house 🙂 This recipe is definitely a keeper to me.

 

 

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Cranberry Orange Scones”
  1. I’m trying to figure out how you measured out 1/6 cup of sugar! These look good.

    • 😀 I have a “1 cup” cup that marks even 1/8 cup. Handy little device 😀 Basically, that is all the sugar I had left… but it was perfectly sweet for my taste!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

