Tourist in my own country: Tihany

I’ve been gone for a while from my precious blog I have to admit, but I had a very good reason for it – instead of staying at home among the 4 walls and cooking something tasty everyday that might or might not be worth a blog post, we took some friends and went to explore Budapest and the beautiful lake Balaton. I was not a special fan of Balaton until now – of course there were some places I didn’t mind going back to, but in general, it was not one of my most favourite places in the world. Our recent trip has managed to change my mind quite much, most of all the wonderful town of Tihany.

Tihanycivertanlegi1

Photo Source: wikipedia.com

Tihany is a small town spread out on the Tihany peninsula located on the North of Balaton. The whole town is a historical district, with an abbey, a magnificent view, lots of lavender and cute old houses maintained in their original splendour. It also boasts with one of the best views of the lake. And did I mention the food? You won’t starve around here! After visiting the town and gazing at the amazing view from the abbey’s garden we sat down to have lunch in one of the many restaurants of Tihany (‘Régi Idők Udvara Skanzen’ restaurant), a well-chosen one. Authentic Hungarian food served on traditional plates and cutlery, you won’t even find Coke here and you probably won’t miss it either. I was perfectly refreshed by a big cup of their lavender and elderflower drink! Some pictures below for all of us, foodies🙂

tihany_balaton027 tihany_balaton028

tihany_balaton019

Goose leg with mashed potatoes, apples, steamed purple cabbage and cranberry jam

tihany_balaton020

Grilled goat cheese and fresh garden salad with yoghurt dressing and seeds

tihany_balaton021

All the best from the pantry🙂

tihany_balaton022

Chicken, chorizo and onion skewers with salad and steak potatoes

tihany_balaton023

Homemade cherry and apple strudel for dessert

tihany_balaton025 tihany_balaton024

Hungry enough by now?🙂

Comments
6 Responses to “Tourist in my own country: Tihany”
  1. Hi there, just came across your blog through a fellow blogger. I love this idea. We so often dream about exploring the great big world around us that we forget to find the time to get to know our own cities and towns. Happy blogging🙂

  2. As a matter of fact you have made me hungry and I just finished eating dinner! What a beautiful place and it certainly looks like you ate well. Isn’t it funny that we sometimes feel we have to go far away to enjoy a vacation spot when often times we’re living in areas that other people travel from all over to visit. I must say though, that this does look like a place I would love to visit.

    • Thank you Diane it is totally worth the visit🙂
      I have to agree, we spent some amazing days visiting my own city where I live in, Budapest, there were new things even for me!!

  3. Bonnie Eng says:

    Wow, thanks for sharing and explaining what was in those food photos! The dishes look so rustic and delicious…would love to visit someday….lucky you!!🙂

Leave a Reply

