Traditional Easter Braided Sweet Bread – 2

I love to try out new recipes but when I want to be sure the result is just as I expect I turn to the good old tried recipes. Thus, when my sister left for a trip and gave me the leftovers from her fridge – including a box of whipping cream – I knew immediately that it is time to make a nice and soft, classic braided bread. With a twist😉

Easter_Almond_Braid_4

Traditional Easter Braided Sweet Bread

Ingredients:

500g flour
7g instant dried yeast
50g sugar
1 sachet vanilla sugar
pinch of salt
250ml whipping cream
2 eggs + 1 white

1 egg yolk and 1 tbsp of milk for brushing and a handful of sliced almonds to decorate

Easter_Almond_Braid_3

Preparation:

1. Mix flour and yeast and pour everything in the bowl of a stand mixer. Knead for about 5-7 minutes (or knead with your hands as I do:)).
2. Form a ball and let the dough rise for 1 hour.
3. Now the fun part, do the braid! I found nice step-by-step instructions for this here:

http://sweets.seriouseats.com/2011/09/sweet-technique-braiding-challah.html

I made a simple braid with 3 strings now and joined the 2 ends to form a nice ‘nest’. You can place a colored egg in the middle for a fancy Easter centerpiece.
4. Transfer to a baking pan (lined with baking sheet) and let it rise for about 30 mins more.
5. Brush the braid with the mixture of the egg yolk and 1 tbsp milk, and sprinkle with the sliced almonds.

6. Place the bread in pre-heated oven and bake for about 35-40 mins at 190°C, or until golden brown.

Easter_Almond_Braid Easter_Almond_Braid_2

Enjoy😉

Comments
6 Responses to “Traditional Easter Braided Sweet Bread – 2”
  1. ChgoJohn says:

    This is a beautiful loaf of bread, so perfectly braided. Mine never look this good. Mine is more savory and I think yours would be a welcome change. Pinned it! 🙂

  2. afracooking says:

    Exactly what I am going to post in honour of Easter (if I find a chance somewhere before easter :-> ) I love the look of your bread – so soft and fluffy and such a lovely crust!

  3. I think I need to give this a try this year. I’ve never tried a braided bread before and it looks so pretty. You did a great job braiding – would you do my hair now?

Leave a Reply

