Fried Cabbage

Fried cabbage is a very versatile thing and I would say a staple in Hungarian cuisine, cabbage pasta being a common dish on the tables in this country (well, it was/is in my family, for sure). It is easy and relatively quick, and can be used as a filling for puff pastry, mix it with pasta or anything else of your choice.

Ingredients:

1 medium white cabbage, shredded
olive or vegetable oil (granny would use fat)
big pinch of salt
pepper to taste
1 heaped tbsp of sugar

Preparation:

Shred the cabbage and sprinkle with salt. Let rest for about 30 minutes then squeeze. Sprinkle with the pepper and sugar, mix.
Grab a pot and add the oil, add the cabbage and fry on low heat, mixing frequently, until turns brownish (careful, burns easily). It will take some time so put the radio and your dancing shoes on.

Fried_Cabbage  01

Fried_Cabbage  02

Fried_Cabbage  03

When it is done, you can use it right away or freeze. Tastes best in puff pastry πŸ˜‰

Cabbage_Puff_Pastry_Triangles01

Comments
10 Responses to “Fried Cabbage”
  1. christinaseeber says:

    I fried up some purple cabbage and then added bolognese sauce, let me tell you, that was pretty good.

  2. Looks good to me – tough sell on the hubby though. It reminds me of this meal that my girlfriend’s mother used to make but they were rolled…can’t remember what they were but I think there was some kind of meat in them?

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    I do enjoy cabbage, though I normally make it with a bit of bacon. Each and every time I cook some, I wonder why I don’t do it more often. I know I’ll definitely say that when I wrap it in puff pastry. What a concept!

Leave a Reply

