Chocolate and Bailey’s Ice Cream

I always wanted to try making ice cream at home – I do not have an ice cream maker so all those recipes got discarded, but when I came around this recipe I ran to the freezer to check if there is space for a container. Having made myself sure that it fits, I got down to business, and some time later, we were already devouring an amazing bowl of home-made ice cream. Served in home-made waffles. Yes!!!

Chocolate_Baileys_Ice_Cream  04

Chocolate and Banana Ice Cream

Yields: Four to six scoops
From Ready for Dessert (Ten Speed) by David Lebovitz

Chocolate_Baileys_Ice_Cream  03

Ingredients:
2 ounces (55 g) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped
6 tablespoons (80 ml) milk, whole or low-fat
6 tablespoons (80 ml) Baileys liquor
1 medium-sized ripe banana, peeled, and cut into chunks
1 tablespoon (15 ml) dark rum (I didn’t have any rum so I added 1 more tbsp of Bailey’s)

Preparation:
1. In a small bowl set over a pan of simmering water (or in the microwave), melt the chocolate with the milk.
2. Blend the melted chocolate, the Baileys, the banana, and rum until smooth.
3. Pour into a plastic or metal container, cover, and freeze for at least 4 hours.

For the waffles, click here!

This ice cream is truly easy and delicious. Enjoy!!

Chocolate_Baileys_Ice_Cream  01

Chocolate_Baileys_Ice_Cream  02

Comments
10 Responses to “Chocolate and Bailey’s Ice Cream”
  1. What else is there to say except – oh wow! That was dinner right?

  2. afracooking says:

    I expected this post to be like torture: I love ice cream – I adore a glass of baileys, but I do not have an ice cream maker. But oo OOO this recipe doesnt require one – heaven! Thank you so much for sharing!

  3. Homemade ice cream AND homemade waffles! You are my hero!

  4. bonnieeng says:

    This looks so amazing! I do own an ice cream maker, but it’s such a pain to use…nice that I can get around it with this recipe! Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

