Vietnamese Spring Rolls

I love spring rolls. Crispy on the outside, tasty and soft on the inside, a quick and satisfying snack for almost every occasion. The only problem is the closest place where they make a good spring roll here in Budapest is relatively far from my place (meaning, when you immediately feel the craving to devour one or two – it is far). Thus, when we stumbled upon a really cool Asian store the other day, the idea was born to make them at home – yes, I knew it wouldn’t be even half as easy as gathering yourself and going to that actually not so far Asian restaurant to pick up a few spring rolls, but I was certain that we will like them more as we know what is inside (I’m not at all criticising our favorite Asian restaurant, but you never know:)) and I was always interested to try them baked instead of fried. Now we only needed a recipe, picked up the missing ingredients from the Asian store and the fun began😀 Because it was actually fun, rolling the cute spring rolls up in that delicate rice paper – that I thought will break immediately (somehow it is way more resistant than it seems), and even if it looks like a lot of fuss for those couple of spring rolls, I assure you, it is totally worth that little extra effort, and I have to say when I made them the second time I already considered myself a pro. I made them first fried and the second batch in the oven – they were both equally delicious🙂 Feel free to experiment with the fillings, the first time I followed the recipe that I found, the second time I added sausages and peas as well, yum!

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  02

Vietnamese spring rolls

Ingredients (for 10 rolls):

10 pieces of rice paper (I used square but any shape works I guess)
Vegetable oil for frying

For the filling:

1 small carrot, cut into thin slices
0.5 red bell pepper, cut into thin slices
1 small white radish, also cut into thin slices
1 tbsp dried wakame seaweed, soaked in warm water and squeezed
50 g rice noodles, soaked for about 3-5 minutes in boiling hot water
2 eggs

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  12

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  13

Preparation:

For the filling, mix all the ingredients. To fill the rice paper: place the rice paper (one by one) in hot water for a couple of seconds. Lift it out and place on a cloth. Place a big tablespoon of filling on the rice paper and check out the photos for the folding technique🙂 Fry the rolls in vegetable oil or bake in the oven until golden brown. Enjoy with sweet chile sauce! My boyfriend liked the leftovers even more the next day.

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  01

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  11

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  10

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  09

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  08

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  07

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  04

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  06

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  05

Enjoy🙂

Notes: This filling has a very smooth taste. Add some salt, pepper, chili for a boost🙂 As for the wakame seaweed – to my (European) nose, it had a very strange odour but it added a nice pop to the filling (both in color and taste). Feel free to experiment with different types of fillings. The variations are endless!

Vietnamese_Spring_Rolls  03

Comments
12 Responses to “Vietnamese Spring Rolls”
  1. cookazido says:

    Great step by step instructions! I admire you for going to all the work and learning to make these. They look perfect! Thank you for sharing the recipe and how to do it.

  2. Wow! Great job! They look delicious. Thanks for sharing🙂

  3. Excellent! I love spring rolls & you’re right about how making them yourself gives you that little extra reassurance of the what the ingredients are. I keep thinking about making them myself but always talk myself out of it because it sounds so hard. I’m glad you showed that rice paper part because I didn’t realize that’s what it actually looks like.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I, too, love Spring rolls. I’ve never attempted to make them because it’s a lot of work for one person. I guess I have to invite some people over for dinner. They just better not expect to take any of the leftovers home. 🙂

  5. bonnieeng says:

    I’ve never been successful at making spring rolls (with the rice paper wrapper)…will have to try again with your recipe! =)

  6. hoytapeo says:

    I can learn a lot from this blog🙂

    Congratilationsm your recipes seem like perfect🙂

Leave a Reply

