Guacamole

I read somewhere that you should try something new every week (or was it month, day, year? Whatever!) So I thought it is time to try Guacamole. Now, the only problem is that I tried avocados once and did not like it at all. For me somehow it tasted like Play-doh. Anyway we had a bag of tortilla chips at home so I decided to give a try at guacamole and found this great step by step video recipe (in Spanish) from DeUvasAPeras.

And now in English🙂

Ingredients:

2 ripe avocados (save the pit and place it on top of the guacamole if you are not consuming it right away, it will – allegedly – help maintain the bright green color!)
1 tomato
1 small onion
1 garlic clove
juice of 1/2 lemon
1 cayenne pepper (I didn’t have this so skipped it)
ground cilantro

Guacamole  04

Guacamole  03

Preparation:

Puree the avocados, grate the tomato and mix with the avocado. Mince the onion and the garlic and add to the mixture. Grind the cayenne pepper with some salt and add to the mixture as well. Add the lemon juice and mix it well (I’ve put everything in the blender:)). You are done! Enjoy with nachos/tortilla or in a sandwich!

Guacamole  02

Guacamole  01

P.S.: This guacamole looked and smelled very good but did not manage to change my mind on avocados🙂 But I have to admit it is very nice and fresh, perfect for hot summer days. ENJOY!!

Comments
10 Responses to “Guacamole”
  1. heatherinsf says:

    Next time you might want to mash it with a fork, and add a shake of ground cumin. We in California like to use fresh lime juice, and we can’t get enough guacamole! It’s really good on a hamburger too, with bacon, that’s my favorite burger!

  2. I like guacamole but sometimes it makes my stomach hurt for some odd reason…weird…so I can totally relate😦

  3. Lilly Sue says:

    I love quacamole! And I love avocados plain with a little salt and chili powder🙂 Is it mainly a texture thing or it really tastes odd to you?

  4. acrusteaten says:

    Guacamole is one if life’s most beautiful things.

  5. atkokosplace says:

    I love guacamole! Glad you like it now😀

  6. Oh my goodness girl, never had guacamole? You’re not hanging out in the right bars. You did a fine job on it though. Avocado is sort of a strange thing though isn’t it? It’s not one of those things you’d just peel and eat, but it does set off some food very nicely.

Leave a Reply

