Sanfaina

The mother of my Mr is spending a couple of weeks with us here in Hungary and while she is hoping to see some snowfall (unfortunately very unlikely, winter seems to be very mild this year) we are enjoying her great Spanish cooking skills. This dish, the “Sanfaina”, is a kind of vegetable stew, loaded with fresh veggies and with a hint of Mediterranean goodness thanks to the olive oil and the pretty plump olives. Easy to prepare and delicious by itself, with fresh bread, or accompanied by an also Spanish potato tortilla (just as we enjoyed it ;)). I captured the recipe and the process to be able to prepare this dish myself and be able to share it with you! Now let’s cook🙂

Sanfaina  04

Ingredients (for around 3 portions, as a side dish):

1 medium onion
colorful peppers of your choice (in our case: 1 Hungarian yellow pepper, medium green bell pepper and medium red bell pepper)
1 small eggplant
1 small zucchini
1 carrot

Olive oil, salt and pepper
Olives to decorate

Sanfaina  02

Preparation:

Wash, clean, peel and slice all the veggies thinly and poured them over a little olive oil that you have heated up in a frying pan. Add salt and pepper to your taste. Cover the pan and cook the veggies on low heat, stirring it every now and then until all of them are tender. Decorate with a couple of olives, serve and enjoy!!

Sanfaina  01

Sanfaina  03

Comments
8 Responses to “Sanfaina”
  1. Eva Taylor says:

    That does look and sound incredibly tasty. I’m not much of a potato lover, but I must say the Spanish potato omelette is my favourite!

  2. bitsofnice says:

    I lived in Spain for 2 years and those flavours really takes me back! Love it!

    • 🙂 I’m lucky to have some “Spain” here with me in Hungary in the person of my boyfriend, and now that his mother is here too, double luck!!😀 We’ll have some warming vegetable “potaje” today, smells divine….

  3. Oh that does look great. And, what a wonderful guest to do some cooking while visiting. I’d let her stay for a very long time.

  4. Karen says:

    When you see your Mr.’s mother, tell her that her meal sounds wonderful. Having lived in Miami where many people are from Spain, I learned to love potato tortilla but I’ve never had sanfaina. What a great sounding combination.🙂

Leave a Reply

