Quick Broccoli Cream Soup

I have stumbled upon a recipe of a broccoli cream soup at Marina, and immediately travelled back in time to when I was about 18 or 20 years old, spending a couple of days in a thermal hotel with my family, where we had the chance to take part in a celebration dinner with a great menu, with broccoli cream soup as a starter. I was sceptically expecting the waiter to arrive with a strange green coloured liquid as I never tried this soup before, however I was pleasantly surprised to find (a green, but) very good-looking cream soup with shredded cheese and croutons on top (who doesn’t like croutons?), and the taste was delicious! For some reasons I have not eaten any other such soup since then so I grabbed the opportunity, bought a relatively small piece of broccoli and  some cream, and tweaked the recipe to my taste. Sharing it with You now maybe you would also like to give it a try🙂

Broccoli_Cream_Soup  02

Ingredients:

1 small head of broccoli, separated into florets
1 medium onion
1 garlic clove
1 medium potato
200 ml cream (I used 10%)
olive oil (or butter, if you wish)
3-4 cups water (or chicken broth, I never seem to have that so I used water)
salt, pepper and vegeta (mixed vegetable spice) to taste

Broccoli_Cream_Soup  01

Preparation:

1. Saute the chopped onion in about 2 tbsp of olive oil. Add the minced garlic, potato, broccoli florets, spices and water, cover and cook until vegetables are  tender.
2. Puree the soup with the help of an immersion or normal blender (careful, its hot!), return to the pot and add the cream, mix and cook for a couple of minutes more.
3. Serve with croutons or soup pearls.

Broccoli_Cream_Soup  03

Enjoy!!

Comments
6 Responses to “Quick Broccoli Cream Soup”
  1. ChgoJohn says:

    This looks like a wonderful, thick soup. Just the way I like it to be once the weather grows cold. Adding the potato surely helped it there and was a good idea.

  2. The Editor says:

    Reblogged this on Recipe Reblog.

  3. Oh I will enjoy. I love broccoli soup but have been hunting around for an easy, yummy recipe for a while. This looks like a winner.

Leave a Reply

