String Bean Főzelék

Green Pea főzelék is one of my favorite go-to dishes for busy mornings or short-time-to-make-something-to-eat occasions. The other day we went to the nearby shop with the sole reason to pick up a jar of green peas but they didn’t have any! So I had to improvise, and luckily remembered that my mother makes a great főzelék out of string beans too, so I moved over to the green bean row and picked up a jar of this precious soft veggie. Let me assure you this is just as good as any green pea főzelék – I’d even admit that I liked it better.

String_Bean_Zoldbab_Fozelek  04

Ingredients (for two):

720ml/680g can of string beans (I added some thawed, previously frozen bright green beans too)
1 tbsp flour
1.5-2 tbsp oil
salt, pepper and powdered paprika, couple of bay leaves

sausages/roasted chicken/meat loaf to serve.

String_Bean_Zoldbab_Fozelek  01

String_Bean_Zoldbab_Fozelek  02

Preparation:

The method is the same that I use for the green peas.

1. Heat the oil until it starts to simmer. Add the flour and mix well until fully incorporated and there are no lumps. You can add more oil if it looks too thick.
2. Add the beans with the liquid from the can and mix well. Add a bit of salt, pepper and powdered paprika, bay leaves, mix and cook until you reach the desired thickness – some like it pretty dense while I prefer a bit less thick (about 10 minutes for me). When ready to serve, remove the bay leaves and top with sausages or any topping of your choice.

 

I checked the other day and apparently you can also freeze this dish – just reheat it well in a pot when you want to consume it🙂 Enjoy!

String_Bean_Zoldbab_Fozelek  03

Comments
6 Responses to “String Bean Főzelék”
  1. This looks wonderful & I think I’d like the green beans even better than the peas. I’m still trying to figure out how to pronounce fozelek though (I guess if I just make something up when I serve it to my husband, well…how would he know if I’m saying it right?)

  2. It looks delicious!🙂

Leave a Reply

