My California Chicken

Chicken again you say… I say the BEST EVER chicken dish! At least, the best that came out of my kitchen. Ever! A full healthy-hearty meal in one pan that is not only easy to make but sure to impress on a cold May day (or any day, really)🙂 Please don’t judge this dish by its appearance, I’m sure you could also serve it in a more fashionable way or snap a more impressing photo – however we enjoyed it mounted on our plates just as it came out of the pan, all mixed up and flavors going round and around every bit of ingredient.

I had to find a name for it to be able to post it nicely here, and decided to call it fancy “California Chicken”. The explanation is simple, here in Hungary bell peppers are called California Peppers – as one of the main ingredients for this dish is bell pepper, I though it would do!

California_Chicken  04

Ingredients:

3-4 pieces of chicken upper thighs
half red bell pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1/2-3/4 cup tomato sauce
1 tsp minced garlic
salt, pepper, 1 tsp cumin seeds

2-3 medium potatoes, sliced

California_Chicken  02

Preparation:

On a bit of olive oil, sautee the onion and add the chicken bits. Cook for a few minutes then turn the pieces. Add the peppers, garlic, spices and the tomato sauce. Mix and add the potato slices on top. Cover and let it all simmer for about 45 minutes on medium heat (lower if it starts to jump around too much).

I have made this dish about 3 times already and it was always a huge hit!

Hopefully you will also give it a try, and if you do, let me know what you think🙂

California_Chicken  03

California_Chicken  01

Comments
8 Responses to “My California Chicken”
  1. Swept.Out.To.Sea says:

    Can’t wait to try this🙂 Adding a little color to dinner…I like it!

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    This is truly a one pot wonder. I love everything about it. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I will definitely let you know what I think because I’m going to try this tonight. I don’t have the bell peppers so will probably do just the onion but I love the idea of the potatoes in there…really love it.

Leave a Reply

