Pimientos Padrón Project – Part 1

It is that time of the year again! When I get enthusiastic about planting something on my mini balcony. This time I’ll try to be more practical and instead of going with jungle sized  tomato and bell pepper plants that simply won’t have enough space to grow, I have planted little Padrón pepper seeds. These will hopefully produce cute little green peppers that can be consumed fried in olive oil and sprinkled with coarse sea salt – I have tried it in Spain and fell in love with this truly flavorful and easy to prepare dish.

I picked up the seeds at a store at the Barcelona airport last year. Couple of weeks ago I planted them in a biodegradable egg carton – separated the top of the carton, lined it with a plastic bag and placed the other half of carton on top. Filled the compartments about 3/4 with soil, placed 2 seeds into each compartment and topped with a little more soil. Placed the whole thing in the windowsill, watered it every day and waited patiently🙂

Pimientos_Padron_Plants  06

Pimientos_Padron_Plants  05

And voilá! About 2 weeks later, the first mini plants appeared:

Pimientos_Padron_Plants  04

Pimientos_Padron_Plants  03

Pimientos_Padron_Plants  01

Pimientos_Padron_Plants  02

Growing stronger and taller every day!

Click here for part 2!

Comments
7 Responses to “Pimientos Padrón Project – Part 1”
  1. mwkitchen says:

    Such a good idea, lived on these whilst living in Spain. Looking forward to seeing their progress!

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve planted my seeds, as well. Is there anyone more optimistic than a gardener? 🙂

  3. Since we’ve been getting a few warm(er) days here I’ve been thinking about getting some plants started indoors. I don’t know what went wrong last year but my tomato plants grew nice & tall but produced exactly ONE tomato. My only problem w/indoor planting is that cat of mine who mows down everything that sprouts! Like my chives – a cat who eats chives…grrrr..

    • We are lucky no cats or other animals so good to go with the indoor gardening, still waiting for the spring to plant anything outside. There is still snow in the (flat Hungarian) mountains!! One tomato is better than no tomato at all, my friend!😀

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

