Huevos Flamencos

I was wandering through the pages of a tapas book of mine when my Mr pointed out a picture I would probably never pay much attention to. A nicely colored photo of a quite simple dish, that I thought would taste as “simple” as it was described. After all, what good could come out of some corn, bell peppers and eggs? I’m not a big fan of corn, he is not a huge friend of bell peppers, but we both like eggs and well, why not give it a try? After having checked a couple of basic recipes around the web and adding my own little touches and changes, I can proudly say that we have created a new family favorite! If you have the chance, give it a try – real simple to make but the taste, is amazing.

Huevos_Flamencos  05

Huevos Flamencos (Flamenco Eggs)

Ingredients:

1 onion, minced
1 red bell pepper, cut into small chunks
2 tomatoes, chopped
1-2 garlic cloves, minced
about 150g corn
3 eggs
a handful of spicy chorizo chunks
olive oil
fresh chopped parsley, salt, pepper and paprika powder to taste

Huevos_Flamencos  12

Huevos_Flamencos  11

Huevos_Flamencos  10

Huevos_Flamencos  09

Huevos_Flamencos  08

Huevos_Flamencos  07
Preparation:

1. On a little olive oil, saute the onions. Add the chorizo, garlic and the chopped pepper, cook for about 10 minutes. Add the tomatoes, spices and parsley, cook for about 5 minutes more. Add the corn and remove from the heat.

2. Spoon the mixture into an oven proof dish (you can also use 2 individual dishes) and break 3 eggs on top. Sprinkle with oregano and push into the oven pre-heated to 180°C/360°F. Bake for about 15-20 minutes or until the egg whites are done.

Serve steaming hot with fresh bread for the best experience!

Huevos_Flamencos  04

Huevos_Flamencos  03

Huevos_Flamencos  06

Huevos_Flamencos  01

Huevos_Flamencos  02

Comments
10 Responses to “Huevos Flamencos”
  1. I’d like to start my day with that. I love everything in there but I’d have to go with the orange bell pepper & tell my husband it’s carrot. Love the chorizo in there.

  2. anything flamenco!🙂 eggs+tomatoes:awesomeness!

  3. This looks really good..We are vegetarians so I guess I can skip the meat and give this a try..🙂

  4. That looks delicious.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] farms This is simply a name I found adequate for this dish that was born out of the recipe of the Flamenco Eggs. Having no corn or chorizo at home, adding sausages and beans to the bell pepper base: Mexican […]



Leave a Reply

