Algerian Spiced Lentils

I have found this very good-looking Algerian Lentil Soup recipe over at Sweet Pea and Jasmin. A quick review of the stock in the home pantry in my mind, a fast run to the store for turmeric, a couple of changes along the way and some time later I presented my Mr with this delicious, thick meal that became an instant favorite! For the original recipe, roll over to Sweet Pea and Jasmin. Here is my version🙂

Algerian Lentil Soup (or probably Puree is more adequate)

Algerian_Spicy_Lentil_Puree  05

Ingredients:

1 onion, finely chopped
2 carrots, finely chopped
2 teaspoons of chopped garlic – I received for Christmas home-made, hand chopped garlic, conserved in olive oil. It has a very strong flavour – amazing! I used this for the recipe.
2 tomatoes and half cup cherry tomatoes in tomato sauce (leftover)
1/2 tsp turmeric
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp coriander, crushed
150g brown lentils
1/2 l chicken stock
1 cup plain yoghurt
salt, pepper and powdered paprika to taste

Algerian_Spicy_Lentil_Puree  03

Preparation:

1. In a pressure cooker – sauté the onion and carrots with a splash of olive oil until soft. Add the garlic, spices and tomatoes and stir.
2. Add the lentil, chicken stock, mix, and secure the lid. Cook for about 30 minutes or until lentils are soft.
3. Before serving, mix in a cup of plain yoghurt and enjoy with fresh bread or pita!

Algerian_Spicy_Lentil_Puree  01

My Mr is not a big friend of ‘exotic’ dishes and spices, but I believe he really liked this one🙂 Feel free to try this with your picky eaters.

 

Algerian_Spicy_Lentil_Puree  04

Algerian_Spicy_Lentil_Puree  03

Comments
14 Responses to “Algerian Spiced Lentils”
  1. Love your adaption! I will give this a try… Looks a lot thicker and I like the idea of adding yogurt.
    Will rate after my attempt.

  2. denlyn3 says:

    Lentils are so taste, I will try this it looks delicious.

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    Hi, just read about garlic in olive oil should always be stored in the fridge because it will grow botulism. You should google it. Not with standing, this soup sound delightful.

  4. I’ve never tried anything like this but it sounds really interesting. I LOVE your presentation – it looks beautiful.

  5. sh0werstorm says:

    that looks yummo.. I might try making that, along with some homemade pitta..lol

  6. nicobor says:

    I think I just used the phrase “mouth watering” in another comment, but it is deserved here. I love making lentil soup, but your version is reminding me of those hot, delicious nights in N. Africa. I’ll have to try this.

Leave a Reply

