Anniversary! Apple and Coconut Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache

It has been exactly 1 year ago that I posted my very first post for the whole wide world to read. It was not much, but 145 posts later I can say that I’m very glad I took the courage to start something new, from scratch! And now, having come so far, I’m happy to tell you that I’m not planning on quitting soon, because thanks to all of You, my Dear Readers, I can see that what I’m doing here is worth it, if even only 1 of you can put a nice dinner on the table with a little help from my blog 🙂

But enough of the emotional talk, let’s get down to business, shall we? Another foolproof recipe, easy and delicious, based on an old recipe from my grandmother, just perfect for an anniversary 🙂

Apple and Coconut Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache

Yields 2 mini cakes – I used these cute little heart-shaped pans I received for my Bday from my dear sister:

Feel free to adjust the amount of ingredients if you want to make a bigger cake (or a tray of muffins?).

Ingredients

150 g flour
1/2 package of baking powder
1 egg
25g butter
75g sugar
75ml milk
1 big apple
2 tbsp shredded coconut

For the ganache:

50g 75% dark chocolate
2-3 tbsp milk

1tbsp butter

shredded coconut

Preparation

1. Beat the butter, egg and sugar. Add the milk, and add the flour that you have previously mixed with the baking powder. Beat until smooth and creamy.
2. With the help of a spoon, mix in the coconut and the shredded apple.
3. Pour the batter into the greased shapes and bake on 180º C (360º F) until golden.


4. For the ganache: break the chocolate in little pieces, add the milk and melt it in the microwave. Mix it until smooth (if it is too dense, add a little more milk), add a tbsp of butter and mix it well. Pour the ganache on top of the cakes, spread it out with the help of a spoon.

5. Finally, sprinkle with coconut flakes and serve:

Enjoy!

Comments
9 Responses to “Anniversary! Apple and Coconut Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache”
  1. Congratulations on yet another great post & I’m glad to hear that you’ll be keeping it up. This looks like a definite winner.

  2. congratulations on your first year! That means a lot, and those cakes are absolutely worthy of marking the occasion! Sooooo yummy looking…. ^.^ (and I love that combination of flavours, they don’t happen enough)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Apple and Coconut Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache […]

  2. […] Food Channel Apple and Coconut Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache Recipe here by While He Was […]



Leave a Reply

