Rich and Savory Pumpkin Bundt Cake

I wanted to wait and share this recipe on the 1st anniversary of this little blog (1 year already? Yay!) but then I thought it can be a perfect cake to accompany the afternoon tea before a Halloween party so let’s not wait until the 4th of November. I hope you agree : )

Rich and Savory Pumpkin Bundt Cake adapted from the Dolce Vita Blog.

Ingredients:

450g flour
125g butter
350g raw shredded pumpkin
200g sugar
1 small package of baking powder
2 eggs
200ml natural yoghurt
100 ml oil (I used olive oil as I didn’t have anything else at home)

orange zest
1/2 – 1 tsp powdered cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger (I replaced the nutmeg and ginger with 1/2 tsp gingerbread spice mix)

+ butter and flour for preparing the bundt cake pan.


Preparation:

1. Shred the pumpkin, prepare the bundt cake pan (butter, then flour) and pre-heat the oven to 180°C/360°F.
2. Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder and spices. Add the butter, eggs, yogurt, oil, orange zest and finally the shredded pumpkin. Mix until all the ingredients are well blended.
3. Pour the batter into the bundt cake pan and bake for about 55 minutes.

You can top the cake with a simple sugar frosting if you like (my Mr prefers to dunk the bundt cakes into hot milk, I did not want to ruin this habit with a frosting):
mix 150g sugar, 2 tbsp lemon juice and 1 tbsp water. Pour it on top of the cooled cake and place it on a cool place until the frosting gets solid.

This amount makes a huge cake – I had it for breakfast 4 times and even shared a quarter of it with my colleagues on the 4th day. On that day, the cake was still moist and delicious!

Comments
13 Responses to “Rich and Savory Pumpkin Bundt Cake”
  1. I want some NOW!! 🙂

    • Well, it is ready in exactly 1h 5 minutes if you have the pumpkin shredded, haha! I would also suggest for you making this with honey instead of sugar, I’m sure it would turn out great!

  2. Oh the texture of that cake looks fabulous. I also love the idea of eating cake for breakfast, but it’s a healthy cake (hey better than a glazed donut or something sticky sweet like that).

  3. Happy Anniversary! Your bundt cake looks divine! Thank you for sharing and visiting my blog.

  4. terrepruitt says:

    I only use olive oil when I cook. And most of the time when I am baking!

    This bundt cake sounds great!

  5. Carole says:

    Hi there, I am collecting pumpkin recipes at the moment. Please do drop me a line on ca4ole@gmail.com if you are ok with me linking to your post in my blog (Carole’s Chatter). Cheers

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

