Papas Arrugadas con Mojo Picon

Today I’m bringing you a traditional Canary Islands dish! This is definitely my favourite from that region, with the unforgettable mojo picón (a kind of spicy-hot sauce) – a real treat! And it is really easy – mainly when you already have the sauce done. I had leftover salsa brava sauce from the other day when I made Patatas Bravas, I used that as a base for the Mojo Picón.

Papas Arrugadas or ‘Wrinkled’ Potatoes

Ingredients:

really small potatoes
sea salt

Mojo Picón (see below)

 

Preparation:

Wash and rub the potatoes (leave the skin on). Cook the potatoes in salted water until tender (don’t be shy with the salt!). Strain the water, return the potatoes to the pot, add more salt and ‘cook’ the potatoes for about 5-10 minutes more on low heat. This is when the salt will appear on the potatoes and the skin gets ‘wrinkled’.

For the sauce:

I used the sauce from Acorn in my kitchen as a base (around 1/3 of the amount you get if you follow the recipe):

1 Onion
1 Garlic clove
1 Can of Peeled Tomatoes
1 Table spoon Pimenton (I used Hungarian powdered paprika)
1 Tea spoon Cayenne Pepper (next time I’ll use like half of it – the Mr was complaining a bit :D )
1 Table spoon Flour
1 Tea spoon White Sugar
1 Table spoon White Wine Vinegar
Salt
Olive Oil

Chop the onion and garlic. In a pan with a bit of olive oil put the onion, garlic and pepper. Fry at low heat until soft. Add the paprika and flour. Stir for 1 minute and add the tomato. Cook for 10 minutes. Add the sugar, stir and cook 4 more minutes. Remove from the heat. Add the vinegar and mix. Season. Put the sauce in the blender and blend until smooth (or leave it chunky if you wish!)

 To convert this sauce to something similar to the Mojo Picón, I added about 2 tbs of ketchup and 2tbs of mayonnaise. Mix until incorporated.

Pour the sauce over the potatoes and enjoy while hot!

Comments
2 Responses to “Papas Arrugadas con Mojo Picon”
  1. This looks really interesting & very different from anything I’ve tried. I think I’d go super light on the Cayenne for myself though. I love sweet paired w/the vinegar, very nice.

    • Yes the cayenne is waaay too much for my Spanish boyfriend too, haha, even I felt hot after eating it (and I’m already used to spicy hot Hungarian food 😉 ) Give it a try though, really very nice!

Leave a Reply

