Cottage Cheese, Apricot Jam and Meringue Pie

The first time I came along this recipe, I fell in love with it and saved it for a future-perfect occasion. That occasion was yesterday! Made it for mothers’ day for my mom, without realizing that it is actually a variation of her all time favorite cake: the “Rákóczi Túrós” invented by Hungarian master chef János Rákóczi, first shared with the world in 1958 at the Brussels World Expo. The recipe I used is not the original one, but if anyone is tempted to try it out, I found it here – adapted from the chef’s own cookbook.

And let’s see the variation I did 🙂

 

 

Cottage Cheese, Apricot Jam and Meringue Pie

Ingredients:

For the pie:
250g flour
120g butter
1 egg
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp baking powder

For the filling:
500g cottage cheese
3/4-1 dl apricot jam
2 medium lemons
2 tbsp sugar

For the meringue:
3 room temperature egg whites
150g powdered sugar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Preparation:

1. Mix the flour, salt and baking powder. Add the cold cubed butter and bring it together until it has a ‘coarse’ texture and the butter is incorporated. Mix in the egg and form a ball of the dough. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. (I left it in the fridge overnight – maybe not such a good idea, when I removed it from the fridge it could have broken the floor it was so rigid – only after around 30 minutes at room temperature could I made it obey :))
2. Roll out the pie dough (4-5mm thick) and smooth it into your pie pan (I have a silicone one so I didn’t have to butter it). Dock the dough by piercing the base with a fork in several places to allow airflow and prevent bubbles.
3. Mix the cottage cheese with 2 tbsp sugar and the rind of 1 lemon, mount it onto the pie base and smooth it out.
4. Brush the filling with the jam, sprinkle with the rind of the other lemon (I saved some of it to sprinkle the meringue at the end).
5. Beat the egg whites, when they are nice and fluffy but not yet solid, add the sugar 1 spoonful at a time. Beat it after every spoonful until you have a shiny stiff foam.
6. Spread the meringue on top of the jam layer and push the pie into pre-heated oven: bake at 200°C/390°F for 15 minutes, then lover the temperature to 180°C/360°F and bake for 15 minutes more. Let it cool before serving!

I have to say it was delicious and my mom LOVED it. Happy Mother’s Day Mom!!

Comments
6 Responses to “Cottage Cheese, Apricot Jam and Meringue Pie”
  1. It looks delicious!

  2. I am a sucker for anything meringue. Looks fantastic!

  3. 8020living says:

    Hi, thanks for ‘liking’ my curry sauce. I’m going to save this lovely meringue concoction and have a go when we have friends round, otherwise I would be tempted to finish it off myself – not a good idea for the waistline! Tina

Leave a comment