Carrot Cake with Vanilla Whipped Cream

I have decided that this year I skip buying truckloads of chocolate and make a cake instead for my loved ones this Easter. I found an amazing post that served as my inspiration at Colors in the Kitchen, written by a lovely lady in Hungarian – check out her blog when you have a minute, her photos are really impressive and has great recipes too!

So the recipe, with some minor changes, in English this time!

Carrot Cake with Vanilla Whipped Cream and Strawberries

Ingredients (for a 20cm/apx 8″ cake pan):

2 eggs
200g sugar (I decreased to 150g, it was still a tad too sweet for me)
140 ml vegetable oil
pinch of salt

1/2 ts cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg
pinch of ginger (best when fresh)
(I replaced these three with 1/2 tbs gingerbread spice mix)

75g ground nuts
300g shredded carrots
1/2 ts baking soda
180g flour

 

Preparation:

1. With the help of your mixer, beat well the eggs with the sugar. Add the oil, salt and spices. Add the nuts, carrots, flour and baking soda.
2. Pour the mixture in a buttered or baking sheet lined cake pan (or use a silicone pan and you don’t need butter or paper:)) and bake for about 70-75 minutes at 150°C/300°F.
3. When removed from the oven, leave the cake in the pan for about 5 more minutes then let cool on a rack.

For the whipped cream:
Beat 100ml whipping cream until stiff peaks are just about to form. Beat in vanilla and 1 ts sugar until peaks form (I added a sachet of vanilla sugar as I didn’t have vanilla).

Mount the cream on the cake and decorate to your liking – I added a couple of strawberries – YUM! (My cake is a bit flat because I only had a 25cm cake pan – it did not alter the taste though ;))

Leave a Reply

