Honey Garlic Soy Sauce Chicken Drumsticks

I found this amazingly sounding and looking recipe the other day @ The Gourmand Mom, and I needed no more pushing to head straight to the chicken drumsticks section at the store. Luckily I had all other necessary ingredients at home, and decided to squeeze in preparing this dish before going to work in the morning, to have quality lunch later in the office.

Honey Garlic Chicken Drumsticks

Ingredients:

6-8 chicken drumsticks
3 tablespoons butter (I had only around 1.5 tbsp, it was also enough 🙂 )
2 teaspoons garlic, minced
1 tablespoon soy sauce
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
salt


Preparation:

1. To prepare the sauce: Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat. Add the garlic and cook for about 3 minutes. Turn off the heat. Add the soy sauce, honey, parsley, and crushed red pepper. Stir to combine. Taste and adjust seasoning with salt and pepper, as desired. Set aside to cool slightly.

2. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Arrange the chicken drumsticks in a single layer in a baking dish. Pour the honey garlic sauce over the drumsticks. Roll the drumsticks in the sauce to coat all sides. Bake for about 40-45 minutes.

I prepared some brown rice to accompany the drumsticks with, yummy! (In my opinion at least, the chicken was a tad too sweet for my Mr and he definitely does not like brown rice LOL! No worries fellows, I made up to him later by preparing stuffed zucchini boats – he does love those 😉 I’ll post the recipe for them soon as well.)

Comments
11 Responses to “Honey Garlic Soy Sauce Chicken Drumsticks”
  1. More delicious chicken? You’re on a roll! Looks great, especially with the brown rice!

  2. Nice, I was just about to post a honey chicken recipe but I like love the idea of garlic & soy sauce in this one.

  3. Yummy! That’s my kind of food 🙂

  4. Jasline says:

    Gosh you’ve got me drooling! I just made some drumsticks today for lunch and you’ve made me yearning for more! I love the flavours, sweet and salty with a little spicy kick.

  5. YUM2THREE says:

    Some of the images on your blog have made me lick my lips! Very talented! I look forward to visiting again soon 😉

  6. KTM500 says:

    I followed this recipe to the letter and as I suspected, it turned out to be, for the most part, flavorless. The honey/garlic mixture falls off of the meat during cooking and stays on the cooking sheet. Scant flavor adheres to the skin. The best way to do the honey garlic thing would be to let the chicken rest over night in a container with salt and garlic. Before cooking, toss the chicken in olive oil and cook, as suggested in this recipe. When the chicken is almost done, baste with honey and a small amount of soy. Let it cook a little longer and that’s it. Done.

    • Everyone has different taste 🙂 I was completely satisfied with the result, the sauce did not fall off and the taste was fantastic. Thank you for the suggestions though, maybe some people will like your version more!

Leave a Reply

