Chorizo Flower Bread

I saw this recipe the other day at FrugalFeeding that gave me the inspiration to do something similar. I had no rosemary or thyme at hand but a half chorizo was looking at me from inside the fridge, so there we go: Chorizo Flower Bread! I halved the amount of the original recipe.

Ingredients:

• 250g strong white bread flour
• 1 7g sachet of fast action dried yeast
• 140-150ml warm water
• A few pinches of sea salt, pepper
• Half paprika chorizo
• Milk enough for brushing


Preparation:

1. In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, yeast and roughly 1 tsp of sea salt. Bring this together into a reasonably wet dough with the warm water. It should be dry enough to knead. Knead the dough for ten minutes, until smooth.
2. Add the chorizo (I chopped and fried it in a pan just a little bit before) to the dough and continue to knead for another minute. Cover the the dough ball and let it rise for about an hour.
3. Roll out the dough and make a shape to your liking.
4. Pre-heat the oven to 200C. Brush the raw dough with milk and scatter over a very large pinch of salt and some pepper. Once the oven is hot, pop the loaf in to cook for 30-35 minutes. The bread is ready when it is golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped.

Comments
6 Responses to “Chorizo Flower Bread”
  1. Awesome! Did not expect to find a mention to myself here!. It looks wonderful – great idea, it goes well with my leaf! Doesn’t the chorizo work brilliantly?

  2. This is so pretty and fun!

  3. Chorizo bread is one of my favourite things to eat but I am yet to try making it myself. This recipe looks so simple though I might have to be giving it a try!

Leave a Reply

